Printing new things for my new things

Over the past few days I have been having great fun flying my new Hubsan X4 Quadcopter. This is an amazing gyro stabilised RC quadcopter that is small enough to land in the palm of your hand. It can fly perfectly indoor or out and has enough lift to carry a key chain camera. Only problem is after reading on the forums I realised that the small blades are fragile and  can easily become damaged during crashes. Many Quadcopters such as the Parrot AR drone have prop-guards to protect the props from impacts and so I decided to design a set for the Hubsan X4.

These parts were printed on my printrbot and the design files can be found on Thingiverse (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:61127). The bumper weighs about 4 grams in total and is completely push fit. flight time is slightly reduced as you would expect but this is easily outweighed by the fact that bumps with walls and objects no longer stop the props (causing the quad to fall from the sky).

In the future I may re-design this to be a bit stronger / lighter if I get the time but till then I thought some one might find this useful.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

